post editions

Rotterdam DialoguesThe Critics The Curators The Artists

On three occasions, between the fall of 2008 and the spring of 2009, Witte de With, center for contemporary art, organized three symposia under the title 'Rotterdam Dialogues: The Critics, The Curators, The Artists'. Each three-day event focused on one agent in the art world, looking at their expectations, positions and the contexts in which they operate.
If a book cannot capture the atmosphere of lively excitement of 35 international critics, 48 curators and 57 artists, not to mention the 500+ visitors who attended each symposium, it can highlight the individual tone and spirit of many discussions that remain, by necessity, unfinished. This book follows a chronological structure, containing selected transcriptions from each symposium and the outcomes of the associated workshops. After this comes a free-wheeling section titled 'What are you talking about now?', a question sent to all the guests in the months that followed the symposia. Their diverse reactions give a sense of the range of characters, ideas and practices that the symposia brought together.

Rotterdam Dialogues contains (in order of appearance) transcripts from The Critics featuring: Tim Griffin & Edgar Schmitz, Sina Najafi, Sven Lutticken, Dieter Roelstraete, Mark Rappolt, Judy Freya Sibayan, Ho Tzu Nyen, Koen Kleijn and the workshop led by Melissa Gronlund; transcripts from The Curators featuring: Bart De Baere, Hou Hanru, Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, Adam Budak, Kitty Scott & Seth Siegelaub, Enrico Lunghi, Nicolas Bourriaud, Beatrix Ruf, Paul O'Neill, Ann Demeester & Jan Hoet and the workshop led by Raimundas Malasauskas; transcripts from The Artists featuring: Piero Golia, Sarah Morris, Pierre Bismuth, Jimmy Robert, Danai Anesiadou, Spartacus Chetwynd, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Doug Fishbone, Willem de Rooj & Jeff Wall, and the workshop led by Judy Radul.
'What are you talking about now?' contributors are: Rainer Ganahl, Gerardo Mosquera, Pablo Leon de la Barra, Oswaldo Macia, Wendelien van Oldenborgh, Nicoline van Harskamp, Sarah Morris, Pierre Bismuth, Piero Golia, Olaf Nicolai, Gabriel Lester, Diedrich Diederichsen, Nedko Solakov, Andrew Berardini, Paul O'Neill, Kendell Geers, Pelin Tan, Jens Hoffmann, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Rein Wolfs, Emmanuel Lambion, Judy Freya Sibayan, Doug Fishbone, Mark Boulos, Luis Jacob, Richard Hutten, Jan de Cock, The Salford Restoration Office, Josephine Meckseper, Plamen Dejanoff, Petr Bystrov, Dieter Roelstraete, Bik Van der Pol, Ulrike Ottinger.
→ preview
→ from the press

Witte de With
co-published with
Witte de With, center for contemporary art
Zoë Gray, Miriam Kathrein, Nicolaus Schafhausen, Monika Szewczyk, Ariadne Urlus
graphic design
Kummer & Herrman
paperback | 272 pp | 17 x 24 cm